Peggy's Notes on Our Season of Haydn

As an oboist,  I often think I am the luckiest person alive because I have the Bach cantata repertoire. Perhaps this should be enough to keep an oboist going!  However, as the artistic director of a chamber series (who enjoys performing), I struggle with the fact that the chamber music repertoire for oboe is limited. Coming up with programs involving the oboe is a challenge, but it's a good challenge to have.  That is why I have been commissioning new compositions and transcribing classical works for oboe since we started Winsor Music.

When I do a transcription, I try hard not to annoy my audience and musician friends by avoiding pieces that are well-known or performed often.  Early on, I started with rarely performed Bach and Brahms organ works; I moved on to Webern, Landini and Clara Schumann.  John Harbison was the one who suggested I take a look at Haydn. 

Professional string quartets are playing less and less Haydn: Hah! what are they thinking?  I love Haydn, and if they are not going to play Haydn, I am.  If I can make a string quartet work for oboe, I’m going to arrange it!

So when one of my board members suggested that I should program Haydn on every concert, I went for it.  The Haydn trio on Sunday’s concert was originally composed for flute, cello and piano.  I programmed this work because it is a concise and spirited piece, and because I love playing it-- but more importantly, I really wanted to play with George Li!

We would like to take this opportunity to announce that Peggy's transcription of Haydn's Quartet in D Minor, Op. 42, No. 1, is now available as a digital download!

Haydn: Quartet in D minor, Op. 42

Franz Josef Haydn’s darkly evocative Quartet in D minor, composed in 1785, arranged to include oboe by Peggy Pearson, and here available as a PDF download.

Quartet in D minor, Op. 42, Hob. III:43

1. Andante ed innocentemente

2. Menuetto. Allegretto – Trio

3. Adagio e cantabile

4. Finale. Presto

Add To Cart